2018 JazzFM Awards Winners Announced

2018 JazzFM Awards winners announced

It was truly a night for women at the 2018 JazzFM awards on 30 April. With an all female line up with performances by Nubya Garcia, Esperanza Spalding, Cecile McLorin Salvant and an exclusive performance by Dame Cleo Laine.

The UK Breakthrough Artist of the Year Award went to Nubya Garcia, whilst the Vocalist of the Year Award was granted to Zara McFarlane who previously won the the same award back in 2015.

A highlight of the night was Dame Cleo Laine receving the Lifetime Achievement Award for her 57 years active in the music industry since her first release, You’ll Answer to Me, in 1961. She later surprised attendees with her rendition of I’ve Got A Crush On You.

2018 JazzFM Awards Winners Announced
Dame Cleo Laine

Out of the 14 people awarded, six women won (43%), including three women from the UK. It is fantastic to see an almost equal number of women receiving the accolades as men.

Notable winners at the JazzFM Awards were:

Breakthrough Artist of the Year Award: Nubya Garcia (UK)
Vocalist of the Year Award: Zara McFarlane (UK)
International Soul Artist of the Year: Moonchild (US)
Digital Initiative of the Year: Esperanza Spalding – Exposure (US)
International Jazz Artist of the Year: Cécile McLorin Salvant (US)
PPL Lifetime Achievement: Dame Cleo Laine (UK)

Check out WMN Playlist: ten women in jazz inspired by the upcoming Jazz FM Awards.

Feature image: Zara McFarlane and Cécile McLorin Salvant

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s