WMN Playlist: Mercury Prize 2018 shortlist

The Hyundai Mercury Prize 2018 winner is to be announced tonight, Thursday 20 September. Over the last 10 years, three of the winning acts have included female artists: Speech Debelle (2009), The XX (2010), PJ Harvey (2011).

This year’s shortlist is fairly evenly weighted with five female artists and seven male artists. Check out our female focused Mercury Prize playlist below.

2018 Shortlist

Arctic Monkeys – Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino
Everything Everything – A Fever Dream
Everything is Recorded – Everything is Recorded
Florence + The Machine – High as Hope
Jorja Smith – Lost & Found
King Krule – The Ooz
Lily Allen – No Shame
Nadine Shah – Holiday Destination
Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Who Built the Moon?
Novelist – Novelist Guy
Sons of Kemet – Your Queen is a Reptile
Wolf Alice – Visions of a Life

Jorja Smith (2018 nominee)

Florence + The Machine (2018 nominee)

Lily Allen (2018 nominee)

Nadine Shah (2018 nominee)

Wolf Alice (2018 nominee)

Speech Debelle (2009 winner)

The XX (2010 winner)

PJ Harvey (2011 winner)



2 thoughts on “WMN Playlist: Mercury Prize 2018 shortlist

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s