A third of MPG Awards 2019 nominees are women

A third of MPG Awards 2019 nominees are women

A third of the Music Producers Guild 2019 Awards nominees are talented women in the music production industry.

The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony at Grosvenor House, Park Lane, London on 28 February 2019, hosted by broadcaster and breakfast show presenter Shaun Keaveny. Judging for the awards took place at Abbey Road Studios at the start of December.

Cecile Desnos, Dani Bennett Spragg and Rhiannon Mair have all been nominated for the MPG’s 2019 Breakthrough Engineer category (meaning that the winner of this category will be female).

In their eleventh year, the MPG Awards consist of 16 categories celebrating the best talent and rising stars in music production.

Catherine Marks, the MPG’s 2018 Producer of the Year winner, said: ‘The MPG Awards are such a great event in our year as it gives us an opportunity to recognise the outstanding achievements of our engineering and producer community. It was such an honour to win Producer of the Year in 2018, especially in a year where so many other women were acknowledged and awarded. I am looking forward to the MPG Awards next year and wish everyone who is nominated the best of luck.’

A wide range of genres and artists are represented by those in the shortlist and include Clean Bandit, Jess Glynne, Dua Lipa, Liam Gallagher and Royal Blood.

Check out the full shortlist below:

UK Producer Of The Year

Cam Blackwood
Dave Eringa
James Ford

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve

Guy Massey
Matt Wiggins
Sean Genockey

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Miloco Studios

Cenzo Townshend
David Wrench
Mark ‘Spike’ Stent

Re-mixer Of The Year

Matthew Herbert

Breakthrough Producer Of the Year, sponsored by Focusrite

Dilip Harris
Mark Rankin
Rhiannon Mair

Self-Producing Artist Of The Year, sponsored by Spitfire Audio

Four Tet (Kieran Hebden)
Jon Hopkins
Tori Amos

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Genelec

Cecile Desnos
Dani Bennet Spragg
Rhiannon Mair

International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by RME

David Byrne
Donald Glover (Childish Gambino) and Ludwig Goransson
Greg Kurstin

Mastering Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Kii Audio

John Davis
Mandy Parnell
Tim Young

UK Album Of The Year, sponsored by Universal Audio

Arctic Monkeys: Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino
Everything Everything: A Fever Dream
Nadine Shah: Holiday Destination

UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure

Anna Calvi: Don’t Beat The Girl Out Of My Boy
George Ezra: Shotgun
The 1975: Love It If We Made It

The A&R Award

Briony Turner
Gilles Peterson
Holly Manners

Studio Of The Year, sponsored by Soundgas

British Grove Studios
Urchin Studios

The MPG 2019 Awards categories in the gift of the MPG are:

The MPG Inspiration Award, sponsored by Audio Note
PPL Present The MPG Award For Outstanding Contribution To UK Music, sponsored by PPL
The Special Recognition Award

Tickets for the 2019 MPG Awards are now on sale. For price information and bookings, visit: mpg.org.uk/mpg-awards/2019-tickets

Feature image: Shutterstock.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s